Film Friday is here for the first time, at least on my blog, and it won’t be the last! I’ll be making a poster for a different film every week. Accompanying the poster, I’ll write a little something about the movie. This is all inspired by my friend Matt Goold and his Music Monday idea, which has been going strong for a while now. I’ve been neglecting my own wordpress, so this will keep me active every week! I have a few more weekly ideas that I’ll be introducing once I get this one rolling.

Blood Simple (1984) is the first film by the prolific Coen Brothers, some of my favorite film makers working today. You might know them from such films as Barton Fink, The Big Lebowski, Fargo, No Country for Old Men, or Burn After Reading, among others (did you read that in Troy McClure’s voice? I did.) This is one of their many movies that star Frances McDormand, who married Joel Coen the same year this film was released. There are a lot of great images in the film, and the Coen brothers style was starting to bud here, but considering it was an homage to noir, it’s not all there yet and didn’t need to be. Below you’ll find the trailer, I really recommend this film if you can find it.

Any suggestions for next week?

-Kevin

